The best decisions are the last minute decisions

I came to school this year expecting not to participate in frosh week despite getting countless emails from the off campus coordinator. I hummed and hawed about whether or not to participate and the night before O-Week started I emailed my mom and said “I think I should go”. Seeing as most of my sophs are also in second year (some fourth) I thought I might stick out like a sore thumb. Much to my surprise, I didn’t. In fact, I knew going in, as a seasoned veteran of the post secondary world, that age doesn’t really matter in university, but as most of the group was first year students I wasn’t sure how they would react to me. I also did off campus orientation so I wasn’t sure what that would be either. Who would I meet? All I knew was that no one was gonna run up and down the hallways banging on the doors to wake me up.

Lets take a walk down memory lane, when I think back to my very first year of university, I think of a small, fragile 18 year old who knew deep down she didn’t want to be there but stuck it out, cause that is what I do! I don’t drop anything half way through, and you know what I did end up having an awesome year and meeting by best friends, but it just wasn’t the right school for me. Anyway, first year frosh, to be honest wasn’t the greatest, this isn’t a reflection on the institution, but as a introverted first year saying some of the…um…slightly awkward (the best way to put it) cheers made me uncomfortable, and I frankly had a hard time making friends (thank god for ravens figure skating). So the first week wasn’t too great, well frankly neither was the first two months. I mean I wasn’t mentally breaking down everyday or anything but I wasn’t having the typical experience everyone told me about. Flash forward to this week, it was FANTABULOUS to say the least. Probably one of the best decisions I’ve ever made, and I own a French press so that is saying a lot.

minions_fangirling_despicable_me

I am not sure if it because as soon as I got here, I felt like I belonged, or maybe its because I am 20, a bit more confident and comfortable in my own personality, more comfortable with being away from home, I don’t know, but whatever it was I am thankful I didn’t come here my very first year away from home, because then I wouldn’t have met my cool as cucumbers sophs and made genuine friends. If I came here in first year it could very well have been the same experience I had two years ago, that scared, homesick 18 year old. The best part, was the OC frosh was so chill, you didn’t have to go to any events you didn’t want to, but the sophs actually make you feel like your friends, they want to hang out and get to know you (or maybe they don’t and they are just really good actors) but they were pretty cool. Remember people, last minute decisions are the best decisions (sometimes).

One Reply to “The best decisions are the last minute decisions”

  1. Finally got a chance to read this!! , I have been so busy lately its horrible! But awesome at the same time. I really like this, makes me think of my experience in school and how it does change as we get older. I am so glad to hear your loving your new school. Even tho the Ice Diamonds will never be the same without you! Shine bright like you always will! Miss you! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

