Mindy Kaling anyone?

Mindy-Kaling-curvy-and-chubby

It has come to my attention that I have blogged about actresses such as Sophia Bush and Shailiene Woodley who represent one spectrum of the body image talk in hollywood. On the other end is Mindy Kaling, another woman that has a great, inspiring view on body image. Kaling brings another perspective and has had some great quotes about how she feels about body image and has responded to comments that she is completely accepting of her body. She said:

“I’m also the recipient of a lot of backhanded compliments about it, where people are like, ‘It’s so nice that Mindy Kaling doesn’t feel she needs to subscribe to the ideals of beauty that other people do.’ And I’m like, I do subscribe. They’re like, ‘It’s so refreshing that Mindy feels comfortable to let herself go and be a fat sea monster!’ By the way, I run and work out. It takes a lot of effort to look like a normal/chubby woman.

This quote is a rather true quote of many women. I mean, who isn’t trying to stay fit but also look normal. She also brings up the point that you don’t need to be super model skinny to have a great life. And its totally true. I understand that hollywood projects her image in a more marginalizing fashion, like “how are you so confident in your own skin”, well why wouldn’t she be? In this quote she perfectly outlines that double standard brought on to her. And she is right about the white males being asked about their actual work. Have you ever realized that women always get asked about their confidence and self esteem? Here is her quote are double standards.

“There are little Indian girls out there who look up to me, and I never want to belittle the honor of being an inspiration to them. But while I’m talking about why I’m so different, white male show runners get to talk about their art. I always get asked, ‘Where do you get your confidence?’ I think people are well meaning, but it’s pretty insulting. Because what it means to me is, ‘You, Mindy Kaling, have all the trappings of a very marginalized person. You’re not skinny, you’re not white, you’re a woman. Why on earth would you feel like you’re worth anything?’”


Read more: http://www.crushable.com/2014/05/06/entertainment/mindy-kaling-body-image-weight-quotes/#ixzz313SZNvuK

Leave a Reply

